To learn more about community development within municipalities, please click on your area of interest on the map below.

Grimsby Lincoln West Lincoln Wainfleet Pelham Welland Port Colborne Fort Erie Niagara Falls Niagara-on-the-lake Thorold St. Catharines

The neighbourhood boundaries outlined above were identified as a result of the Neighbourhood Creation Project (Ontario Early Years Niagara Region, Niagara Region Public Health Department - 2006). The map was created by UEY (2007), in partnership with the Data Analysis Coordinator and the Offord Centre for Child Studies, McMaster University. Base features for the map were created by the PREP Unit, Public Health. The municipalities are outlined in dark green, with the neighbourhoods outlined in brown.

We have also worked closely with the Early Years Niagara Research Advisory Group and the local Ontario Early Years Data Analysis Coordinator to make decisions on how best to report the information, given certain restraints (i.e. neighbourhood samples with less than 30 children cannot be reported on in order to protect confidentiality and privacy).

As a result, 10 of the 12 municipalities had to have some, or all, of their neighbourhoods amalgamated in order to report on EDI data and create a long-term workable solution. Neighbourhoods were amalgamated based on geographic proximity and similar socioeconomic conditions. These maps will only be used for reporting EDI results. Maps with the original neighbourhoods will be used to report on socioeconomic conditions and community resources and their names will be included in all maps - out of respect and appreciation for the work and wisdom of the community champions who participated in the Neighbourhood Creation Project. Click here to see the amalgamated neighbourhood in the Niagara Region.

"Found in southern Ontario between two of North America's Great Lakes (Ontario and Erie) the Niagara region is a very diverse municipality...Niagara, which covers 1896 sq. km (715 sq. miles), is made up of 12 unique and distinct local municipalities. Varying from the larger populated cities of St. Catharines and Niagara Falls with their urban intensive features, to Wainfleet and West Lincoln with more rural or natural resources including our vast mineral resources (pits and quarries) and environmental resources (peat and petroleum), all add to Niagara's economic diversity... The contrasting municipal features and unique natural landscape contribute to the diverseness of the Regional Municipality of Niagara."

Revised: Wednesday, March 08, 2006
Copyright 2006 The Regional Municipality of Niagara

For more information on the Region of Niagara, please visit:

The Regional Municipality of Niagara's Community Services and Public Health Departments offer a variety of community development programs/services for families and young children in Niagara.
For more information, please visit:
Community Services, Children's Services Department
Public Health Department